Alabama Football Wins 18th National Championship


Photo by USA TODAY

Alabama rolled over Ohio State with a 52-24 win in Miami, Florida on January 11 to win their 18th College Football National Championship. The win gave them back-to-back titles. Alabama has claimed 18 National Championships over the last 100 years since their first National Championship win in 1925. 


The Heisman Trophy winner Devonta Smith collected 215 yards and 3 touchdowns, all in the first half. Smith got injured in the second half and didn’t play the rest of the game. He still managed to get the MVP of the game. 


Nevertheless, Ohio State’s offense produced very little along with the defense not getting stops. In addition, Justin Fields’ beat up ribs made him very immobile throughout the game. 


Even though Ohio State kept it close at half, Alabama pulled away after half giving them the 52-24 win.