Poetry Books to Read During National Poetry Month

April is national poetry month. “Inspired by the successful celebrations of Black History Month in February and Women’s History Month in March, the Academy of American Poets established National Poetry Month in 1996.” If you want to start reading poetry but don’t know where to start here are five poetry books and books in verse.

 

Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo

Clap when you land came out may 5, 2020 in the genre fiction. A review by Avani Shah
says “Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo is in a novel-in-verse form written about a girl
named Camino Rios, who lives in Dominican Republic who is fond of her father and waits every
summer for him to arrive. And yet another book which made me in awe with the writing and
narration of the author. Then there’s another girl, Yahaira Rios, they share the same father, the
same surname and similar characteristics and features of their father. This book is about loss,
grief, love and belonging, forgiveness.” The author Elizabeth Acevedo has also written The Poet
X and With the Fire on High.

 

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta

This is a coming of age verse novel perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Elizabeth
Acevedo. Abagail Short writes and review that says “This was a beautiful book. I loved how it
sheds light on racism and homophobia. This book shows what it is like to grow up black, gay,
and having just enough money to get by. Michael is so brave and lovable.”

 

If I Tell You the Truth by Jasmin Kaur

This story by Jasmin Kaur was published January 19, 2021 in the genre young adult adult
fiction. Barnes and Noble description of the book “Kiran flees her home in Punjab for a fresh
start in Canada after a sexual assault leaves her pregnant. But overstaying her visa and living
undocumented brings its own perils for both her and her daughter, Sahaara. Sahaara would do
anything to protect her mother. When she learns the truth about Kiran’s past, she feels
compelled to seek justice—even if it means challenging a powerful and dangerous man.”

 

The Truth Project by Dante Medema

The truth project by Dante Medea is about “Seventeen-year-old Cordelia Koenig
intended to breeze through her senior project. While her peers stressed, Cordelia planned to
use the same trace-your-roots genealogy idea her older sister used years prior. And getting
partnered with her longtime crush, Kodiak Jones, is icing on the cake. All she needs to do is
mail in her DNA sample, write about her ancestry results, and get that easy A. But when
Cordelia’s GeneQuest results reveal that her father is not the person she thought he was, but a
stranger who lives thousands of miles away, her entire world shatters. Now she isn’t sure of
anything—not the mother who lied, the man she calls Dad, or the girl staring back at her in the
mirror. If your life began with a lie, how can you ever be sure of what’s true?”
barnesandnoble.com. This book is beautifully written and is YA.

 

The Princess Saves Herself in This One by Amanda Lovelace

The Princess Saves Herself in This One from Amanda Lovelace is a bestseller. Barnes
and Noble description says “A poetry collection in four parts: the princess, the damsel, the
queen, and you. The first three sections piece together the life of the author while the final
section serves as a note to the reader. This moving book explores love, loss, grief, healing,
empowerment, and inspiration. The princess saves herself in this one is the first book in the
“women are some kind of magic” series.” “The perfect poetry opener for any fairytale lover and
feminist…” Says Kerri Jarema, Bustle